Not quite done but…

 

I’m writing this early morning – as part of a new “morning pages” (The Artist’s Way) habit.  Don’t worry, not all my morning pages will be posts!  I didn’t prepare images to go with this post so the next one will be all photos.  I want to pair before and afters – my favorite part of all the home shows I find myself still hooked on.  You’d think I’d have had enough of remodeling and/or construction!

I’m happy to report that all the boxes have been emptied, flattened and claimed by the anonymous folk who make whatever is left out on the curb disappear or refilled and delivered to the local Goodwill.  A few boxes were taken to the office for co-workers filled with items I hoped they’d take and enjoy.

The house is fantastic.  Despite the half dozen items that the contractor still needs to do and another handful of items he needs to fix, I’m thrilled with how it turned out.  Last night I dreamt that I had to move back into the apartment and sell the house.  I woke with a start from that having to reassure myself that this house is mine and I don’t have to go anywhere!

As much as I want to just settle in and hang art and pick out new rugs, the completion (nearly) of the house means that I need to focus on the yard.  It’s been good to have these few weeks to live with the dead lawn and skeletal trees.  I’ve decided to modify the original design I drew up months ago.  I’ve decided to expand the driveway and walk way and to limit the lawn area out front and focus more on potted plants.  I now feel it is better to focus on creating an inviting backyard.

That’s all for this morning.  Keep your eye on the site for the photos!

 

Leave a Reply

