Rising from the ashes

Fire Interior

I expected my next house related post would involve gushing over the completion, finally, of the drawn out renovations.

Unfortunately, this post couldn’t be further from that.

Just over a week ago I was summoned to my home to find it charred and crawling with firemen. The fire that turned my house into a smoldering, blackened mess was out when I arrived but Fire Station 60’s hoses continued to douse the roofless house while intrepid firemen walked on charcoal beams to remove the remnants of the burnt roof.

The interior of the house is a total loss.  The house itself is in tact enough that I won’t need to rebuild it from the ground up, just from the roof down.

I’m currently living in a nearby apartment on a short team lease awaiting the results of various inspections to learn what will be salvaged and what will need to be replaced.

To say that my insurance company, Liberty Mutual, has been supportive would be a major understatement.  I’d never been a fan of insurance companies.  I begrudgingly forked over my premiums expecting nothing in return.  This experience has been so much better than I could ever have imagined.  They are looking out for my interests, not theirs.  I’m certain it helps that I was in no way responsible for the fire.  I’m certain that the roofing company whose employees caused the fire isn’t getting the same love from their insurance company.

It took a few days for me to process everything but I finally feel that I’m back on my feet.  I wouldn’t wish this on anyone but when all is said and done I will have a fully renovated home and the fire will be just a foot note.

One thought on “Rising from the ashes

  1. nomasotoMeryl February 22, 2015 / 5:41 pm

    Linda, So sorry to read this news!! 😦 You have a good attitude though.That must have taken a minute! Sending you good thoughts!! Lots and Lots, Meryl

Leave a Reply

