Post 365 Days – Week 31 – Home Sweet Home

I’m back home, sleeping in my own bed, preparing my own meals, driving my own car on familiar roads whose signs are in a language I can read…relief. But wait, it is just for a week!

What do you do when you have just five days before hitting the road again for more than a month?  Laundry? Catch up on matters at the office? Sleep?  Drinks with friends?  A movie?  A massage?  A workout?  Sure, I’m going to try to get all those activities squeezed into the week, except perhaps for the workout,  but also…  Hire general contractor. Review cabinet bids.  Select cabinets.  Select granite slab.  Select tile. Select flooring.

I spent my first full day in town driving (in 106 degree heat) to the deep valley where there are more tile and stone stores than there are Starbucks in Seattle.  Each one had a different inventory. Each piece of granite more beautiful than the next.  I normally spend ages looking before buying but I don’t have that luxury when all I have is a week.  It’s been good for me to be pushed out of my comfort zone.   I just have to take the leap and start buying and not wonder if the better slab, the better deal would have been at that other store, the one I didn’t visit.

I typically stress over big ticket items and medium ticket items and some small ticket items.  It’s in my DNA to be careful with my money.  However if you ask me a year later, when I’m wearing that dress I love or carrying that new purse I splurged on, what they cost, I won’t remember.  Because in the end you are either happy with the purchase or you’re not.  If you’re not, then it doesn’t matter if you spent ten dollars or a hundred dollars – it was a mistake. However, if you love the item, the same applies.  Whether it was ten dollars or a thousand dollars, if you enjoy it, feel good in it, love looking at it, feel happy to own it – the price is immaterial.

So I’m hoping that after I stress about how much money the remodel cost, in the end I will love the changes and I won’t think about the price tag.

Here is the slab I chose, the one I didn’t choose and some of the tile…

photo (2)

photo (1)

photo

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

