Post 365 Days – Week 17 – The Flow of Pure Consciousness

I just found this in my “draft” file – I had meant to post it weeks ago so here it is, belatedly.

Two weeks ago I began the latest 21 day Meditation offered by Depak Chopra.  As I sat preparing to meditate I looked around me.  The sun shone on my private garden.  Dappled sunlight flowed through my windows onto beautiful rugs. Birds chirped.  I felt such peace.  I realized how blessed I am and how lucky I have been.

Then I listened to Depak.  As part of his introduction to the meditation he said, “We all have had glimpses of being at one with nature, moments of joy when we have felt life flowing through us in such a way that we felt so blissful…”   I began to wonder, is that true?  Would the mother, living in poverty, struggling to feed and care for her children agree?  Has she, have her children, have her neighbors felt the flow of life, felt blissful?

I think that we, fortunate to live free of worry about the basics of life (food, shelter, clothing, access to medical assistance), take for granted our blessings and assume that which we experience is universal when it is not.  Or am I being judgemental? Just because you don’t have a beautiful home, money in the bank, a job, friends, family does that mean you cannot experience true happiness?  I would be curious to know if those living under harsh conditions, conditions which I believe would make me miserable, anxious, exhausted, defeated, are nevertheless able to find joy and moments of bliss.  Do they find their joy in other ways, through other avenues?  Where is their bliss?  And perhaps are they better off if they can tap into happiness without having to sit, eyes closed, hands open being told where to look for it?

 

2 thoughts on “Post 365 Days – Week 17 – The Flow of Pure Consciousness

  1. somatodrolbula August 9, 2014 / 11:10 am

    Thanks for a marvelous posting! I seriously enjoyed reading it, you will be a great author.I will be sure to bookmark your blog and will come back very soon. I want to encourage that you continue your great job, have
    a nice holiday weekend!

  2. somatodrol quanto custa August 10, 2014 / 12:08 am

    hello there and thank you for your information – I’ve certainly picked up something new from right here.
    I did however expertise several technical points using this website, since I experienced to reload the website many times previous to
    I could get it to load correctly. I had been wondering if your web hosting is OK?

    Not that I am complaining, but slow loading instances times will often affect your placement in google and could damage your high-quality score if
    advertising and marketing with Adwords. Well I am adding this RSS to
    my e-mail and can look out for much more of your respective interesting content.
    Make sure you update this again soon.

Leave a Reply

