52 Weeks of Writing? What comes after 365 Days of Writing?

Image

I allowed myself to take a nostalgic stroll through some of my early posts from last year, when I had just started my 365 Days journey.  I had to laugh at the self-conscious attempts to be so “writer-ly” which I soon abandoned.  I was dismayed to note that there was no Day 8 or Day 14!  I had no recollection of having missed those days or any days.  I know that there were times when, as I traveled, I had no internet so I couldn’t post on the day, but I always wrote, or thought I had.  Oh well, water under the bridge.  No going back now to those early days.

As much as I am glad to no longer be laboring under the self-imposed burden of writing each and every day, I don’t want to stop writing.  I’ll see if a weekly posting will work for me.  It’ll give me a chance to process the previous week and allow me to do my writing on the weekend when I have more time.

I went into the office on Thursday, the 2nd, to ease myself back into work following a wonderful holiday spending time with my daughter and friends.  As I sat at my desk I felt joy.  It wasn’t an “oh well, have to go back to work” feeling. It was an, “I’m so lucky to work here and I’m so happy to be back at work.”  I didn’t anticipate that feeling but I so embraced it.  I shared my feelings with the few co-workers who had come in.  Each of them agreed with me. We spent that entire day being grateful that we have jobs we love.

Two decades ago, when I first started this job, a woman who worked in my department but not on my projects stopped me and asked, “why are you always smiling?”  I was not aware that I was “always smiling.”  I gave her the only answer I could, “I’m happy.”  She just shrugged and walked away – probably thinking I was wacko.  I’m happy now but I wonder if I still always have a smile on my face.

 

Moments later I got an email from the Chopra center inviting me to join an 8 week meditation on “Happiness.”  Perfect!  I am happy but perhaps I’ve lost touch with that happiness because I took it for granted.  In this first week I am supposed to think of all the things that bring me happiness.  My list is long and getting longer.  It has made me aware of how fortunate I am. I have so much to be grateful for.  Then, in one of those synchronicity moments, I opened a package which had arrived before I left for the holiday break.  I thought I knew what it contained so I decided to leave it until after the new year.  When I opened it on Thursday, it was not what I expected.

The package contained a gift!  I’d been given the book “Gratitude” and a jar of a flower based elixir (Flower essences of Spiraea tomentosa (Pink Spirea), Lotus corniculatus (Birdsfoot Lotus), Berlandiera lyrata (Chocolate Flower), Osteospermum ecklonis (African Daisy), Nelumbo nucifera (Lotus)), called “Joy Juice.”  The description says a few drops a day of the elixir will promote “Happiness, laughter, joy.”

Looks like the universe wants to help me with my Happiness project.

I wish you smiles and happiness and thank you for sharing my journey.

Leave a Reply

