365 Days of Writing – Day 306 – Halloween aftermath

I decided to go for a morning run on the Friday after Halloween.  My neighborhood is sidewalk challenged so I drove to the most sidewalk friendly neighborhood I could think of, Burbank.  Burbank is the land of well manicured lawns, wide streets (most with speed bumps) and well maintained, mostly even sidewalks.

On that morning the neighborhood proved problematic.  Aside from having to dodge the various candy bars and bags of chips, a breadcrumb trail of  ghost of children, I had to resist the urge to stop every few feet to appreciate the bedizenment.  I forced myself forward block after block refusing to examine the tomb stones, skulls, spider webbing and other adornments.  More than a few houses had set up elaborate sound and lighting systems, evidenced by the infrastructure that remained.  It was obvious that this was a neighborhood of witches and warlocks, or perhaps just creative adults ready to get into the spooky spirit of the holiday.

It dawned on me why mini Butterfingers and 1,000,000 Bars were scattered along my route.  The children’s pumpkins, pillowcases or backpacks must have flowed over with the largess from this Halloween friendly neighborhood.

I finished my run but rather than head to the showers, I returned to some of the homes and snapped a few photos to share with you.

IMG_1029

IMG_1030

IMG_1031

Leave a Reply

