365 Days of Writing – Day 282 – Happy Birthday!

smiling John

Every year on my birthday, I get the same gift.  It is the gift of music.

I am lucky enough to share a birthday with none other than John Lennon.  On his/my birthday, radio stations play more than the usual share of his music.

It’s particularly enjoyable when my/his birthday falls on a weekend.  Then the “Breakfast with the Beatles” syndicated radio show focuses almost exclusively on John’s music.

I used to listen to music from the moment I woke until the moment I fell asleep – often to music.  You can put that sentence into the present tense and substitute NPR for music.  I do miss listening to music.  I plan to make a concerted (pardon the pun) effort to spend more time with music and less with the talking heads.

But for today, happy birthday to me and to John Lennon – where ever he is, I know he’s making beautiful music.

playful John hippy John

One thought on “365 Days of Writing – Day 282 – Happy Birthday!

Leave a Reply

