365 Days of Writing – Day 245 – Growing old

aging

I remember when I was arrogant about aging.  I said things like, “I’m proud of my age and I’m not going to pretend to be younger.”  I scoffed at the women who spent hundreds of dollars on Botox, lifts and tucks.

That was before the lines on my face became so obvious.  The other day I happened to glance into the mirror as I was bent over to blow dry my hair.  Half my face was listing to one side.  Sure it was easy to be high-minded about getting older when I was still lucky enough to look younger than my age.  Suddenly I look my age.  I hope I look my age and not any older.

I’ve found myself looking at women and wondering how old they are and comparing the number of lines on their face with mine.  I actually Googled Elizabeth Palmer, the CBS correspondent in Damascus, to see if she was older or younger than me because her skin looked fabulous.  She’s four years older than me!  I consoled myself with the knowledge that she had a professional make-up person in her corner.

I realize it’s genetics.  Some people have wonderful skin and some don’t.  I’ve been lucky.  I’ve had good skin.  I still have good skin, it’s just not staying in place like it used to.

I’ve had two facials in my life.  One a friend treated me to when I was about six months pregnant and feeling like a beached whale.  The other was last week.  I do believe it’s time I started doing something more for my skin that staying out of the sun.  I see more facials in my future, lucky me!

I used to tell friends to embrace the lines on their face, it showed they’d lived a good life.  Now I have to convince myself.

6 thoughts on “365 Days of Writing – Day 245 – Growing old

  1. http://biorezmez.pl/index.php September 12, 2013 / 7:52 am

    You can definitely see your enthusiasm in the work you write.

    The world hopes for even more passionate writers such as you who aren’t
    afraid to say how they believe. Always follow your heart.

  2. Terrence July 28, 2014 / 10:34 am

    For the reason that the admin of this site is working, no uncertainty very rapidly it
    will be well-known, due to its quality contents.

  3. master rib metal roofing July 29, 2014 / 11:50 am

    I read this article fully regarding the comparison of most up-to-date and earlier technologies, it’s amazing article.

  4. free reputation management September 20, 2014 / 6:49 am

    Admiring the time and energy you put into your blog and in depth information you offer.
    It’s nice to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same outdated rehashed material.
    Wonderful read! I’ve bookmarked your site and I’m adding your
    RSS feeds to my Google account.

  5. concrete pavements September 22, 2014 / 1:22 am

    Hi! This is my 1st comment here so I just wanted to give a quick shout out and say I
    really enjoy reading through your blog posts. Can you suggest any other blogs/websites/forums that cover the same subjects?
    Thanks a lot!

  6. grass between pavers September 23, 2014 / 5:15 am

    Hello to every body, it’s my first go to see of this
    blog; this weblog carries remarkable and actually good information in favor of visitors.

Leave a Reply

