365 Days of Writing – Day 235 – Stereotypes are alive and well at Disney

I happened to walk past a store with posters on the window – they stopped me in my tracks.

The “boy” poster shows a little boy in a soldier costume.  His pose is dynamic, energetic, aggressive.  He is facing forward.  He’s shouting something.  He is in control.  The text says “I AM a SUPER soldier.”

Soldier poster

Next to this post was the “girl” poster.  She’s demure, muted, docile, submissive.  She’s looking down.  Her body is turned to the side.  Even the text is weak.  She is not anything.  She is “ready” to be a Princess.

photo

The differences are so blatant that they have to be intentional.  That’s what I find so disturbing.  In 2013 a major corporation is still promoting the helpless female and the dominant male.  When are we going to get rid of these stereotypes?

7 thoughts on “365 Days of Writing – Day 235 – Stereotypes are alive and well at Disney

  1. Meryl August 24, 2013 / 1:10 am

    I don’t know, but I can tell you that my grand daughters LOVE pink, and during a certain age wouldn’t be caught in anything but a princess or fairy outfit day or night. Why? I don’t know. Exposure? Maybe. But my grandson is exposed to all the girl toys in the house, and seldom if ever chooses the fairy or princess stuff.

    • lxfolsom August 26, 2013 / 4:10 am

      You know I don’t mind so much that the girl is all pink and the boy is a soldier. I just question why a princess can’t be looking us directly in the eye and why she can’t be dynamic. Little girls should know that they are empowered to act, to be in control – even if they are wearing pink.

  2. afterthekidsleave August 24, 2013 / 11:20 pm

    Both my kids–a boy and a girl–played with both boys’ & girls’ toys as kids. Then again, we’re pretty anti-militaristic, so neither had access to toy guns or other weapons. But both loved trucks, trains, costumes, dolls…

    • lxfolsom August 26, 2013 / 4:11 am

      You taught your daughter that she is equal to her brother – which is how it should be. These posters do just the opposite.

  3. femdom spanking September 7, 2013 / 3:05 pm

    Howdy! I realize this is sort of off-topic but I had to ask.
    Does building a well-established blog like yours take a large amount of work?
    I am brand new to blogging but I do write in my journal daily.
    I’d like to start a blog so I will be able to share my own experience and
    feelings online. Please let me know if you have any suggestions or tips
    for brand new aspiring bloggers. Thankyou!

    • lxfolsom September 19, 2013 / 9:10 pm

      As with any enterprise, you get out of it what you put into it. I doubt mine is a well-established blog! Keep writing. Best of luck.

Leave a Reply

