365 Days of Writing – Day 208 – The Flop House

The Flop House 99 invisible

I was exploring some podcast options on the web and came across one which I frankly hated, the Flop House.

It is ostensibly a “bad movie” review podcast though I would say it was a bad “movie review” podcast.  It is a group of men who are so tickled by their own cleverness that they can barely get around to the actual movie review.  No surprise that they are smart, the show stars two Daily Show writers.  I just don’t enjoy hearing them talk for their own amusement.  I think I’ll stick to hearing their work coming out of the mouth of Jon Stewart or, temporarily, John Oliver (who is doing a fabulous job!).

If you want to feel like you’ve  eaves dropped on a frat house conversation about really bad movies, then Flop House is the site for you.  I’m going to pass.

For something equally smart but completely different there is 99% Invisible.  An eclectic collection of musings on design elements. The podcast episode I listened to was about Ladislav Sutnar.  Ladislav is a designer who I’d never heard of but who designed much of what we deal with every day – like area codes having parenthesis around them.  Yes, someone decided that that’s how phone numbers would be displayed.  That someone was Ladislav.

The other day, while on an airplane I was bored so I spied on the guy in the row ahead of me across the aisle.  He was working determinedly on a document on his computer.  He kept referring to chicken scratching in his notebook before entering text into the document on his computer.  Finally he finished and saved the document.  As he proof read it, so did I.  He had written an employment contract for a woman, Maya, who was being hired to be the Director of Textile Design reporting to the President of Textile Deisgn.  What a cool job.  I wondered what did you study to become a textile designer?  Art? Psychology? Math? Graphic Design? All four?  So I was thrilled to come across a podcast about design.

Have you found any interesting, quirky podcasts you want to recommend or pan?

5 thoughts on “365 Days of Writing – Day 208 – The Flop House

  1. responsive wordpress July 27, 2013 / 9:33 am

    Have you ever considered writing an ebook or guest authoring on other blogs?
    I have a blog based on the same subjects you discuss and would love
    to have you share some stories/information.

    I know my visitors would enjoy your work. If you’re even remotely interested, feel free to send me an email.

    • lxfolsom August 17, 2013 / 6:22 am

      I’m flattered but with a full time job I have my hands full just keeping up with this blog.

  2. Dan McCoy August 5, 2013 / 3:04 pm

    Sorry you didn’t like it, though I think we’re hardly like a “frat house.” More like some nerds in a basement.

    • lxfolsom August 8, 2013 / 2:54 pm

      Well, I guess that goes to show how little experience I’ve had with frat houses! I know you have many fans out there, sorry I can’t be one of them.

      • Dan McCoy August 8, 2013 / 3:22 pm

        No problem! We’re not for everyone.

Leave a Reply

