365 Days of Writing – Day 179 – When your body becomes the enemy

Stomach pain

Yesterday morning I didn’t feel like making the smoothie I normally drink before heading to the gym.  No big deal, I thought, I’ll just pop a quick snack and head out.  I had a bag of trail mix standing by from my last trip – lifted from the Business Class lounge –  just some almonds, raisins and sunflower seeds.  It was already hot at 6am.  The temperature was forecast to reach 100 degrees by mid-day.  I looked in the fridge for something cold to drink.  I grabbed the unfiltered cranberry juice bottle.  A small glass of cranberry juice, a bag of snacks and I was in my car on my way to the gym.

I wasn’t half way there before my stomach began to tell me it wasn’t happy.  By the time I pulled into the parking at the gym I was in real pain. I reclined the seat as far back as I could go and still reach the steering wheel.  I tried to flatten out as much as possible.  I looked like a poor imitation of a low-rider.  As soon as I was out of the car and stood up, I felt better.  I felt better and better during the walk from the parking structure to the gym.  Better, but not great.  I skipped the treadmill, the weights, the ellipticals and headed for the mat in the corner of the 2nd floor.  While trying to look like I was stretching, I relaxed and recovered from the drive.

I showered and shampooed but I started to feel poorly again as soon as I sat down to towel off.

It was like that the rest of the day.  Lying down or standing I was okay, not great but okay.  Sit for more than ten minutes and my stomach began seizing up as if it was being wrung out.  Of course today would be the day when I was being videotaped for inclusion in the video collage that will be played at the yet to be scheduled dinner to honor those who have been at the company for 20 & 25 years.  Twenty years and the one day I feel like sh*t is when they put me on camera!

It isn’t fun when out of the blue your body decides to turn on you.  I didn’t know if I should eat or fast, drink or go dry, drink water or tea.  I tried saltines, vegetable broth, tea, water but nothing made me feel good.  I took more phone calls while lying on the floor or standing than I did seated.  When I had to lie on the floor to make it through an afternoon meeting I finally agreed with my co-workers that it was time to go home.

I had planned after work to drive an hour to attend a special poetry reading sponsored by Poets & Writers. I assumed they wouldn’t have a bed for me nor would they want me lying on the floor so I stayed home.  I suppose I should be thankful I was at home and not in some far flung corner of the globe.

Lesson learned, never pull a change on your body first thing in the morning!

One thought on “365 Days of Writing – Day 179 – When your body becomes the enemy

  1. debora July 5, 2013 / 2:53 pm

    Hello! I just would like to give a huge thumbs up for the great info you have here on this post. I will be coming back to your blog for more soon.

Leave a Reply

