365 Days of Writing – Day 137 – www. when?

early computer

Recently I was out with a group of friends reminiscing about our first jobs and our first promotions. Eventually we got onto the topic of the internet, how it changed everything and how we ever managed without it.

That got me to thinking about how radically my life must have been affected by the introduction of the internet and search engines. Yet, try as I might, I could not and still cannot remember when I first typed in www. anything.

I do remember the first computer I owned – a Kaypro. I remember the first program I used – Excel – and that I had to learn how to go into the operating system to make changes to get the program to do what I wanted. But I cannot remember my first search.

It’s like not remembering your first car. How can I not recall in detail the invention which opened the world to me and brought it to my fingertips? What did I search first? What was the OS back then? When did I make my first on-line purchase? It’s all gone. The memory is lost in the haze of the hundreds of thousands of searches I’ve done. The first is victim to the many. I understand why kids who have grown up always having the internet can’t remember when they first went on line but I was there at the birth. I should be able to say one day life was x and the next day it was y all because of a computer.

It just goes to show you how pervasive is the internet. It feels like it has always been here even to those, like me, who know that is absolutely not the truth.

Leave a Reply

