365 Days of Writing – Day 119 Coming to a theater near you?

NT LIVE

I’ve gradually stopped going to the movies. Netflix changed my movie going habits. It’s so easy to either stream directly or to have the DVD delivered to the house.

There are some movies which I know will lose some of their magic and impact if seen on my TV or worse yet, my computer screen. Those I make a point of seeing in the theater. I should say I make a point of trying to see them in the theater. Some movies come and go so quickly that if I’m out of town or simply busy for a few weekends, I miss the opportunity. Most recently I didn’t get to see the latest ” Mission Impossible” installment. I’ve heard from everyone it was terrific but I can’t bring myself to rent it – it was one of my big screen designated movies.

I will also make an exception for art house or foreign movies which take ages to get on Netflix. Sometimes that backfires. For instance the newest Focus Pictures release, The Place Beyond the Pines.” I was disappointed. It was clever but not engaging. I should have waited and watched it on DVD.

There is one movie going experience however which defies all others and requires no exceptions: NT Live aka National Theater Live. I was hooked nearly two years ago when I got to sit in a comfortable theater seat at the Downtown Independent and watch “One Man, Two Guvnors.” It was the funniest thing I’d seen in ages. For a fraction of the cost of a ticket to London’s National Theater, I was able to enjoy a live performance! I immediately signed up to receive advance notices so I wouldn’t (or try not to) miss any plays that season. If I’m in town, I pre-purchase my ticket. I’ve introduced others to the experience. A group of us went to “Frankenstein.” It was absolutely amazing. I saw it twice and was tempted to see it a third time! Last night I saw “People” the new Alan Bennett play. Not the best play I’ve ever seen but enjoyable all the same. There’s something about the live performance which is so much more than just a movie.

If you love theater you owe it to yourself to check the NT live website to see if there is a theater in your city which carries the series. You won’t be sorry. http://www.nationaltheatre.org.uk/whats-on

4 thoughts on “365 Days of Writing – Day 119 Coming to a theater near you?

  1. My partner and I stumbled over here by a different web page and thought
    I may as well check things out. I like what I see so now i’m following you. Look forward to checking out your web page again.

  2. Herman May 27, 2013 / 11:41 am

    Hi to every body, it’s my first pay a quick visit of this web site; this webpage includes amazing and truly good data designed for visitors.

  3. Keith June 26, 2013 / 3:01 pm

    whoah this weblog is great i really like reading your articles.
    Keep up the great work! You realize, a lot of people
    are looking round for this information, you can
    help them greatly.

  4. Click it July 15, 2013 / 1:43 pm

    Nice respond in return of this difficulty with solid arguments and explaining all regarding that.

Leave a Reply

