365 Days of Writing – Day 108

Emily Dickinson

In honor of the Whiskey and Poetry salon I will be attending tonight – admission being the price of the ticket AND a poem – I have below copied out the poem I will bring to share with the group.

It is one by Emily Dickinson which I decided would be very appropriate for the occasion –

There is no frigate like a book
To take us lands away,
Nor any coursers like a page
Of prancing poetry.

This traverse may the poorest take
Without oppress of toll;
How frugal is the chariot
That bears a human soul!

I don’t wish to dwell on the events at the Boston marathon – I think media saturation does no one any good, least of all those who have suffered the worst. But I need to brag about my daughter. A co-worker of hers was injured in the chaos of people attempting to get away from the bomb. Her knee was cracked when she was trampled. To keep her job safe, my daughter and others who work at the same restaurant, are pitching in and doing extra shifts. Yesterday my daughter worked a 12 hour shift. That is hard enough when you’re sitting at a desk but to be on your feet for those many hours and having to serve people, well that is fortitude! I am so proud, though not at all surprised, that she came to the aid of her friend.

2 thoughts on “365 Days of Writing – Day 108

  1. Pingback: originate

Leave a Reply

