365 Days of Writing – Day 101

security

I find security questions to be annoying. They are designed for people who are not me.

For example, I have no idea what street I lived on when I was in the third grade. Do people really remember that? Ah yes, people who didn’t move every three years on average. Those are people who spent their entire life in one place, had one address to commit to memory. They probably have friends who have known them since they were little kids who played together. They have friends who share memories that span decades. Likely that address is still in their family. If they have left, they have a home to return to where those old friends either still live or likewise come back to visit. Perhaps they have taken over the home creating a multigenerational residence imbued with family history.

Then there is the name of your sibling. I am an only child. It’s true, we always want what we don’t have. The person with curly hair wishes for straight hair, while the person with straight hair wraps theirs in hot curlers. The person with a full figure wishes to be thinner, the thin person wishes they had curves. So it is that I always envied people with siblings but they always envied the privacy and the quiet that comes with being an only child.

There are questions about your first car – color, make, year. I imagine that there are many people who are still wishing for their first car. What about the name of your paternal grandmother, grandfather, uncles, aunts. I’m surely not the only one whose father was never in their life. Whose family I have no connection to and little knowledge of. There are questions about names of pets, what about those who suffer from allergies so were denied the luxury of a pet?

Then there are the impossible to answer questions, favorite book, favorite meal, favorite movie – those change from day to day, sometimes from hour to hour. At the moment my favorite meal is the Gnocchi I had last night – amazing! (Mamma Osteria on Melrose Avenue in Hollywood) The only way to recall my favorites at the moment of answering that question would be to write them down. If I have to write down the answer to my security question, doesn’t that make it not secure?

I think you get the point. By now we are used to coming up with passwords. I believe I have at least sixty that I access semi-regularly. Then why do we need these questions? Let us set a password and skip all the rest. If we forget the password there are ways to confirm our identity to recover that password which have nothing to do with a favorite teacher (luckily I did have one of those but does everyone?) or your mom’s maiden name.

Tomorrow, I promise a poem!

2 thoughts on “365 Days of Writing – Day 101

  1. Val Mills April 13, 2013 / 3:34 am

    When I told someone on the other end of the phone I couldn’t remember the pin he wanted me to use, he replied, madam you only reset it three week ago! Hmmmm, I must be the most secure person there is, even I can’t access my info.

  2. lxfolsom April 13, 2013 / 3:58 pm

    I had to reset my password for one site four times in four weeks – my hint was so vague even I couldn’t figure out what I meant! I’m glad I didn’t have to actually speak with anyone to do that.

Leave a Reply

