365 Days of Writing – Day 100

Kids birthday

I’ve noticed that the days of the month and the cumulative count of days have aligned.

Today is the 10th of April which is day 100, the 14th will be day 114, the 21st will be day 121, the 30th will be day 130.

Which reminds me of the birthdays coming up. A dear friend’s on the 21st and my mother’s on the 29th.

Remember when birthdays were a thrill? When you’d wake up and the first thought was that today was your day! A day that would involve presents and cake and thoughts of aging that were cause for celebration. Woo-hoo, a year older, finally!

I can recall how slowly the years seemed to accumulate. Would I never get to be thirteen, eighteen, twenty-one, twenty-five even thirty. Yes, thirty was exciting. I felt that I had arrived. Here it was, adulthood. Once you hit thirty you were truly all grown up, wise, settled, adjusted and mature. Thirty was a cause of major celebration in the group I was hanging out with at the time I finally turned thirty. We’d do theme parties which involved too much booze and just the right amount of pharmaceuticals. There was usually a dress code. There would be speeches, testimonials and, always, some roasting.

Looking back, way, way back, thirty seems so young. There was so much I didn’t know. How had I convinced myself I was so wise? Could I have been more naive?

It makes me think of the Dylan lyric, “I was so much older then, I’m younger than that now.”

One thought on “365 Days of Writing – Day 100

  1. Pilate exercises April 28, 2013 / 9:56 pm

    I was recommended this website by my cousin. I am not sure whether this post is written
    by him as nobody else know such detailed about my problem.

    You are wonderful! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

