365 Days of Writing – Day 83

Those of you who have been following this blog will recall the Whiskey and Poetry gathering I attended a few weeks ago. I told you that we created a poem by passing around a paper folded so that each person could only see the line immediately prior to theirs.

I promised to post the end results – here it is!

Exquisite Corpse –

I am one swallow in a mouthful of birds
one swallow does not a summer make
once upon a dime
In the eye-blink of a lime

Beginning at the lime noon, ending at limeset
Like wishes unfulfilled shadows rose
As smoke from a stack on a cold winter’s night

billows into the dark
deeper and farther away into nothingness
Away into the someplace of nothingness

On a ship made of stroodle [sic]
The dogs howled in the moonlight
after a few hours the moon ran off
Keeping the frozen tears from falling
Keeping my cold heart from feeling

I warm my spirit with the spirit of Scotland
Smokey peat, smelly feet, seaweed and full of life
The sun on high, my heart awry from when you turned to dust
And so you must, you must have known how much it would burn
burn throughout the night, the flames rising into the cold, dark sky
Flickering, smoking, warming, sending clouds of smoke and ash up high

And yet the the germinating barley resists – why, why? Not the smokes
in my blue, blue jeans, I wear them every other day, there is no
cruelty left in them, nor real kindness. Such drapery is endlessly transparent
How many more times?
The voice echoes in the candlelight
Thinking leaves me short of breath
Especially when I think about you
You are the one topic that makes my eyes shine

February 21, 2013

6 thoughts on “365 Days of Writing – Day 83

  1. Privacy Policy April 16, 2013 / 7:52 am

    Great blog you have here but I was curious if you knew
    of any forums that cover the same topics discussed here?
    I’d really love to be a part of online community where I can get comments from other knowledgeable individuals that share the same interest. If you have any recommendations, please let me know. Appreciate it!

    • lxfolsom April 30, 2013 / 4:38 am

      Sorry I don’t know of any other sites.

  2. Tip Cleaning Machine April 16, 2013 / 7:23 pm

    Hello! This is kind of off topic but I need some advice from an established blog.
    Is it very difficult to set up your own blog? I’m not very techincal but I can figure things out pretty fast. I’m
    thinking about setting up my own but I’m not sure where to start. Do you have any tips or suggestions? Appreciate it

    • lxfolsom April 30, 2013 / 4:53 am

      I think WordPress is the easiest to use. It’s not difficult at all. Just try it.

  3. Monthly Seo Services April 21, 2013 / 5:16 pm

    Hey there! This post couldn’t be written any better! Reading through this post reminds me of my good old room mate! He always kept chatting about this. I will forward this page to him. Fairly certain he will have a good read. Thank you for sharing!

  4. Ira April 21, 2013 / 7:27 pm

    I am curious to find out what blog platform you’re utilizing? I’m having some minor security problems with my latest website and
    I would like to find something more secure. Do you have any suggestions?

Leave a Reply

