365 Days of Writing – Day 79

Biggest Loser

“The Biggest Loser” is not a show I’ve been interested in until yesterday. At the gym people lit up as they told me how inspiring the finale episode of the show had been. Those who extolled the show are fit, athletic friends who know how much hard work and dedication it takes to maintain their good physical state. That they found motivation in this show was intriguing. I streamed the show last night to see for myself.

I was pleased that the show had reached out to teenagers to address obesity among the young. I was impressed with the weight loss of the contestants. Mostly I was glad to see the encouragement of the friends and family of the contestants. It’s one thing to drop the weight but to change your habits to maintain that weight loss – that’s where the struggle really takes place.

Primarily I was amazed at the courage of the contestants to reveal themselves – both physically and emotionally. As one who has her own body issues, I doubt that I have the strength these contestants showed. I don’t have a weight issue but I do have my own body issues which keep me from fully loving myself. I was once in a women’s group where we discussed then wrote about our issues. After I spoke one of the women, who was dealing with over eating, blurted out, “I didn’t think skinny people had any issues.” That’s the reality. We assume everyone else is in better shape than we are. We imagine, if only I was like him or her or had what he or she has, I’d be happy. But happiness comes from embracing and loving yourself. That love of self is what I saw in the faces of all “The Biggest Loser” contestants last night. That, not the changes in their bodies, is what will make a difference in their lives.

Congratulations to all who have fought their demons to arrive at their better selves!

Leave a Reply

