365 Days of Writing – Day 58

dress form

Clothes really do make the person. Giving up on baggy sweats and boys’ t-shirts I purchased some real exercise clothes. I wore my new black stretch capri pants, black razor back top and blue over sized t-shirt to the gym this morning. I felt motivated to work out as hard as someone who would wear those clothes would. I huffed and puffed through an hour long Tabata class. Even the instructor commented on my new look. I sweated through all those new layers and I felt great doing it.

It made me wonder how else I could change my attitude through clothing. I remember a pair of really cool suede cowboy boots I once owned. I purchased them at a garage sale on a whim. Since I had the boots, I figured I should go to a cowboy bar. I had a blast. The boots did all the dancing, I was just along for the ride. I two-stepped and line danced through the evening. Unfortunately I handed them down to my daughter and someone stole them from her very first apartment. I hope they dance themselves into a tizzy in those stolen boots!

I worked for a very powerful woman who has since passed away. Despite her tough reputation and her position, she felt powerless unless she was in high heels. She’d wear high heels to the beach if she was going to have to take a meeting there or need to assert herself. She was very petite and despite wearing tailored Armani suits, without three inches to prop her up, she felt completely intimidated by those around her. It was a secret I protected all the while I worked with her but which I think anyone could easily have figured out. In her case it wasn’t the clothes but the shoes which made the woman.

When I first started working I met a woman who was in charge of a large firm. She was probably in her mid-thirties. She had a figure I envied and a style which I wished I could have emulated. She wore very expensive clothes – the quality of the fabric, the line of the cut screamed money, but not class. Her skirt was a bit too tight, a bit too short. Her blouses a bit to low cut, a bit too revealing. At nineteen, I thought it was cool to be able to dress like a slut but not look like one because your clothes were made of silk not polyester. Looking back I realize she was probably trying to remain young and sexy long after she should have switched to mature and classic. I guess it’s a good thing I never had a body that could have supported the clothes she wore.

The problem is, sometimes I feel like being Bohemian but the next day I want to dress for business. I buy bright colors but end up wearing mostly muted earth tones. I will put together an outfit that makes me feel like a hundred bucks. The next time I put on that same outfit, the feeling is gone. I look at expensive clothes but can’t bring myself to buy them. I prefer to shop at the thrift store but then I’ll fall in love with something at Antropologie and splurge. I am the Sybil of fashion (for those old enough to get the reference).

I would love to throw out everything in my closet and start from scratch except it would be too hard to figure out who I want to be.

One thought on “365 Days of Writing – Day 58

  1. afterthekidsleave February 27, 2013 / 1:19 pm

    I know what you mean–my clothes buying technique is pretty random too. Depends how I’m feeling that day!

Leave a Reply

