365 Days of Writing – Day 40

Orchid

On some flights I don’t say a word to the person(s) sitting beside me. I’m not sure why I decided to make small talk with the person next to me on the flight from Amsterdam to LA but I’m so glad I did.

It turned out that he had information which I needed and I was able to introduce him to one of the people in my group who shared so many of the same interests and common acquaintances that it seemed inevitable that they should meet.

Couples will sometimes marvel at the circumstances which brought them together. You’ll hear them list a series of “what ifs” any of which could have easily meant they would never have met. But there’s that other belief that what’s meant to be will be. I think it was the movie “Sliding Doors” which explored that very idea.

It was like that with my seat mate. If either of us had flown on a different day, had been in a different seat, had not spoken to each other – both of us would have missed a very fortuitous connection. Ironically, I had tried to change my seat but hadn’t been able to. Thank goodness I hadn’t.

It does make me think that there is a grand scheme.

Leave a Reply

