365 Days of Writing – Day 27

Image

Yesterday I had a chance to reconnect with old friends and make some new ones at the 25th anniversary party for one of the few happily married couples I know.  Their two daughters threw them a surprise party.  The girls not only contacted dozens of their parent’s friends, they compiled a commemorative photo album and edited a video.

I enjoyed seeing the pictures of my friends as young college students, at their wedding and post-college, when they lived in Paris. I only knew them as parents.  It was fun to see who they were before I’d met them.  

No marriage survives 5 years let alone 25 without enduring some difficult times.  It was heartening to see that, after all these years, they are still very much in love. I’m glad to see that it is possible to keep that affection alive.

I congratulate all couples out there who are making it work and making it last.  You did something I couldn’t. Bravo!

Leave a Reply

